Thursday, 24 March 2016

Afghan peace delegates at Murree, 1919

Afghan peace delegates at Murree, 1919.

Photograph, 3rd Afghan War (1919).

Murree was a British hill station near Rawalpindi. The Afghan peace delegation stayed their before signing the Treaty of Rawalpindi which formally ended the 3rd Afghan War (1919) on 8 August 1919. The treaty finally gave the Afghans the right to conduct their own foreign affairs as a fully independent state. For the British, the Durand Line, long a contentious issue between the two nations, was reaffirmed as the political boundary separating Afghanistan from the North West Frontier. The Afghans also agreed to stop interfering with the tribes on the British side of the line.

Copyright/Ownership: National Army Museum, London

No comments:

Post a Comment